The Canada Council.—Established by Order in Council dated Apr. 15, 1957 this corporation, composed of a chairman, a vice chairman and 19 other members, a director and an associate director, operates under the terms of the Canada Council Act, assented to Mar. 28, 1957. The function of the Council is to encourage the arts, humanities and social sciences in Canada. Its work is financed mainly by two funds, originally of \$50,000,000 each, set up by Parliament when the Council was created: the University Capital Grants Fund, now nearly depleted, and the Endowment Fund, of which only the income may be used. In addition, the Canadian Parliament, on Apr. 3, 1965, approved a special appropriation of \$10,000,000 to enable the Council to meet its minimum foreseeable requirements during the next few years in the furtherance of the general purposes set out in Sect. 8 of the Act. In the making, managing and disposing of investments under the Act, the Council has the advice of an Investment Committee of five, including the chairman and another member of the Council. The proceedings of the Council are reported each year to Parliament through the Secretary of State. (See footnote, p. 142.)

Canadian Arsenals Limited.—This company was established under the Companies Act by Letters Patent dated Sept. 20, 1945 and is subject to the Government Companies Operation Act (RSC 1952, c. 133) and certain provisions of the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116). The company was set up to take over and operate Crown-owned plants and equipment. It manufactures small arms and a wide variety of ammunition and components and has extensive facilities for the filling and assembly of artillery, ammunition, mines, bombs, grenades, rockets and other specialties up to torpedo warheads. Its Divisions, together with the locations of their plants, are as follows: Dominion Arsenal Division (Quebec City and Vai Rose, Que.); Small Arms Division (Long Branch, Ont.); Filling Division (St. Paul l'Ermite, Que.). The company reports to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.—The CBC functions under the Broadcasting Act, 1958, which continues the Corporation as a Crown agency charged with the operation of a national broadcasting service. It has the authority to maintain and operate broadcasting stations and networks and to originate and secure programs from within and outside Canada. This national radio and television service is financed through annual grants from Parliament and revenues from commercial operations.

The Corporation consists of 11 directors appointed by the Governor in Council and chosen to give representation to the principal geographical divisions of the country. The Secretary of State acts as spokesman for the Corporation in the Cabinet and the House of Commons. The President and Vice President are full-time executives appointed for a period of seven years; the other nine Directors are appointed for periods of three years and may serve two consecutive terms. The President is the chief executive of the Corporation and, with the Vice President, is responsible for the conduct of the affairs of the Corporation. As the chief executive, the President receives, interprets and applies the policies and directives of the Directors of the Corporation and establishes administrative and operating policies to control the activities of all operating units—English Networks, French Networks, Regional Broadcasting and the International Service—and of corporate staff departments—Programming, Planning, Engineering and Finance.

In practice, attention of the President is directed primarily to the broad fields of corporate policy, long-range planning and financing. He reports on activities to the Directors of the Corporation and the conduct of relations with Parliament, the Board of Broadcast Governors and the public. The Vice President assists the President in his role of chief executive by assuming primary responsibility for the current operations of the Corporation.

The Corporation's Head Office is situated in Ottawa. Headquarters for English Networks is located in Toronto and for French Networks in Montreal and Regiona! Headquarters are situated in St. John's for Newfoundland, Halifax for the Maritime Provinces, Winnipeg for the Prairie Provinces, and Vancouver for British Columbia. Headquarters for the Northern and Armed Forces Services is in Ottawa and that for the International Service is in Montreal.

Canadian Commercial Corporation.—This Corporation was established on May 1, 1946 by the Canadian Commercial Corporation Act (RSC 1952. c. 35). Its principal purpose is to assist in the development of trade between Canada and other nations by acting on behalf of the Canadian Government as the contracting agency when other countries wish to purchase defence or other supplies and services from Canada on a government-to-government basis. The Corporation may enter into transactions under the provisions of the Act for any department or agency of the Government of Canada.

The Corporation is operated by the Department of Defence Production with staff provided by the Department and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

Canadian Corporation for the 1967 World Exhibition.—This Corporation was established by Act of Parliament (SC 1962-63, c. 12) to plan, organize, hold and administer the Canadian Universal and International Exhibition, Montreal 1967, to be held on the occasion of the Centenary of Canadian Confederation. The Exhibition is one of the First Category, and Canada is the first country in the Americas to hold such an exhibition under a franchise of the International Bureau of Exhibitions.

The Exhibition, known as EXPO 67, will be held in Montreal Apr. 28 to Oct. 27, 1967, on a site prepared by the City in three main areas grouped around historic St. Helen's Island in the